Jackson County
Public Library

Our Mission: To help you Connect, Learn, and Grow

Databases

Free Access to Commercial Databases

brought to you by the Jackson County Public Library.

Some databases require Indiana residency and/or a JCPL library barcode.

General Information Education & Testing
History/Genealogy Legal Forms
Downloadable Books Look for People/Business

 

General Searches

 

INSPIRE

reliable, verifiable, quantifiable, accurate information on current events, consumer issues, science, business, health, notable people, hobbies, and much more, funded through the Indiana General Assembly; requires proof of Indiana

residency; see tutorial.

 

WorldCat

to search for books, music, videos, articles in more than 10,000 of the world's libraries.

 

 

Downloadable Books

 

NetLibrary

to search for downloadable audio books, fiction and nonfiction.

Back to the Top_____

 

Education & Testing

 

Gale Testing & Education Reference Center (free access from home with library barcode) lets you search for colleges, graduate programs, vocational schools and other educational resources; also has practice tests and guides for GED, civil service and military entrance exams, college and graduate school exams, and more.

 

History/Genealogy

 

Ancestry Library Edition (free in-library use only)

has many of the same databases as the subscriber Ancestry for access to every-name index to population census schedules from 1790 through 1930, vital records, passenger lists, and much more.

 

Heritage Quest Online (free access from home with library barcode)

genealogical resource gives access to US census schedules and some indexes from 1790 through 1930; thousands of full-text family and local history books; PERSI index to nearly 2 million genealogy and local history articles; US Serial Set documents, Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records

 

Back to the Top_____

 

Legal Forms

 

Indiana Legal Forms

from Thomson Gale includes forms drafted by attorneys for business, personal, real estate and general use on hundreds of legal subjects and issues, and for Indiana and Federal use.

 

Look for People & Businesses

 

ReferenceUSA

directory to more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents; details about company executives and companies, SEC filings, and residential addresses

 

For other useful databases, view the main Information Services page.

 

Back to the Top_____

Other Useful Resources:

Ask a Librarian

Information Services

August 2008